The show must go on…

Dear Comrade-in-Arms,

Yes, we’ve both been under the weather this week, some more dramatically than others.migraine

Woke up Thursday morning with one of my migrainey things. I don’t think of them as proper migraines because I can bear light and noise (to some extent – speed metal Fur Elise does test one rather). But I do have a severe pain – always in my left temple – and feel nauseas. Every time this happens I seem to have something important to do and decide that it’s just a matter of mind over matter and I can soldier on. My body usually has other ideas.

So it was on Thursday that I joined our choir buddies from Acabellas to attend our performance for the Portarlington Biggest Afternoon Tea. We arrived early and I tried to make friendly small talk, before confiding in a couple of people that I was feeling a little ill. You know that hot-and-cold, I think I’m going to chuck but maybe it’s just in my head feeling. Anyway, Penny gave me four (!) various tablets from her handbag and about two minutes later – just as Belinda was starting the warm-up – I excused myself to lose my lunch in the ladies loos – urrgh!

But as they say in showbiz – the show must go on. I wiped my face with paper towel and went out to face my friends. We had about two minutes left of warm-up before trotting up the stairs for our performance. I may or may not have poisoned my fellow performers with vom-breathe. But I sang. I think I even smiled a bit. It was a huge audience – about 200 or so people – and they weren’t very smiley but as we’ve discussed in choir before this might be what people look like when they’re riveted…We did get hearty applause which was nice, and a couple of boxes of chocceys that Belinda swears she will bring on Tuesday to share.

Then we had our photo taken by the Bellarine Times – because I was feeling so eminently photogenic! – and Belinda told us how awesome we were. Gotta love that lady!

Spent today resting (apart from a little gorilla research in the form of Gorillas in the Mist – which was kinda traumatising!) and now feeling a lot better.

And now for a weekend of wall-to-wall sport!

Hope you feel better soon.

Love you heaps,

Mum xoxo

About Heather Gallagher

Heather lives in Ocean Grove with her beautiful family and a dog called Pip. She has a passion for quirky stories. Her first book, Ferret on the Loose, was published in 2013 and was recently listed on the Victorian Premier’s Reading Challenge. The book was inspired by a girl and her ferret, who Heather interviewed while working as a freelance journalist for The Sunday Age. Her column, Yak Attack, ran in the Kids View section for more than a year and allowed Heather to profile people she thought would be of interest to kids. In 2014, she released her first picture book Happy Pants – Why is mummy so sad? This is NOT a story about ferret racing. Rather, it is a heartfelt story about a boy grappling with his Mum’s post-natal depression. Heather’s stories for children have appeared in black dog books Short & Scary anthology and Explore and Challenge magazines. Heather has experience in public speaking – both for children and adults. While, promoting Happy Pants she spoke to groups of counsellors, nurses, parents and at library events. She has presented writing workshops to primary-aged children. Last year, she was a presenter at the Sacred Edge festival and the Christian Writers’ Conference.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

