Five things knitting has taught me about life

Dear Rose,

Okay, I know what you’re thinking – knitting, really? Mum’s really dredging the bottom of the barrel here. But can I just say, knitting is the new sexy! Don’t believe me…

Ryan2

I’ve had a few knitting break-throughs lately and it’s got me thinking about what I’ve learnt from the humble art of making something out of wool and basically a couple of sticks.

So here’s what I’ve learnt:club

  1. Knitting is a great conduit for female bonding. This is a bit, doh! but you only have to look at the numerous knitting groups, etc to discover that women coming together and crafting is something that has happened for generations and for good reason. Bonds can’t help but be formed when you share your craft projects, scoff chocolate and bitch about your husbands (woops – did I really say that – sorry darling xoxo)
  2. Mistakes can be fixed. This is huge for me. I’ve never been able to fix my own mistakes. Hence, when in the middle of a knitting project if I make a boo-boo, I have to yodawait weeks until I meet up with my craft buddies and Mother Rachel can fix my errors. But recently, as I was working on my poncho, I made a mistake and I thought – bummer, I’m not seeing Rachel again for two months – surely I can fix this myself. So I dragged out my excellent knitting book Purls of Wisdom and I learnt how to undo – hard to understand when you’re a non-knitter but trust me this is revolutionary stuff 🙂
  3. Patience! As you know, this is not something that comes naturally to me. But there’s something about a big knitting project (or any craft project for that matter) that’s like reading a great big fat book. There’s a luxury in knowing that it’s waiting for you – that you can pick up where you left off and hook up (forgive me!) with those same reassuring colours and patterns.
  4. Mindfulness. Okay, I know this is all the buzz at the moment but there really is something very soothing about the basic act of winding a bit of wool around a
    needle and creating something. The only problem with circular needles – for the poncho – is that you don’t have the satisfaction of completing a line and having a natural break – ca la vie!
  5. The joy of making. This is big. There’s nothing like the smug pride when wearing something you’ve made and someone marvels – did you make that and you reply with a sheepish smile actually I did!  Forgive my hubris – but I am of the personal view that it’s allowed when crafting 🙂

So there you have it. If you’d like me to teach you to knit over the school hols – I’m your girl or woman or mother, if you like…

But you probably wouldn’t have the patience 😉

Love you,

Mum xoxoxo

PS.David

About Heather Gallagher

Heather lives in Ocean Grove with her beautiful family and a dog called Pip. She has a passion for quirky stories. Her first book, Ferret on the Loose, was published in 2013 and was recently listed on the Victorian Premier’s Reading Challenge. The book was inspired by a girl and her ferret, who Heather interviewed while working as a freelance journalist for The Sunday Age. Her column, Yak Attack, ran in the Kids View section for more than a year and allowed Heather to profile people she thought would be of interest to kids. In 2014, she released her first picture book Happy Pants – Why is mummy so sad? This is NOT a story about ferret racing. Rather, it is a heartfelt story about a boy grappling with his Mum’s post-natal depression. Heather’s stories for children have appeared in black dog books Short & Scary anthology and Explore and Challenge magazines. Heather has experience in public speaking – both for children and adults. While, promoting Happy Pants she spoke to groups of counsellors, nurses, parents and at library events. She has presented writing workshops to primary-aged children. Last year, she was a presenter at the Sacred Edge festival and the Christian Writers’ Conference.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five things knitting has taught me about life

  1. I’ve just started knitting in my 30s and I’m really enjoying it. It’s very addictive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

