10 reasons I love Merlin!

Hey You,

I can’t believe I just read your post (which will be published on Thursday because you’re such a smarty-pants show-off even though you’re on camp) and am feeling a bit jelly about your amazing excerpts from your work-in-progress. As I have bitterly pontificated (look it up), this blog will be the means by which you, my dear, are discovered and I sound like the sad, aging hack….

Oh dear – that got a bit dark. A bit quick.

Moving on.

Yes, the Over-Achiever and I have been binge watching Merlin again. I know. Like some people, I should – given that I am the alleged real writer in the household – be working on my 50k novel. But I’m not. (I’m on my 25th draft of a junior novel if that counts :))

So, yes Merlin. For any readers not familiar with this amazing show – it’s a high concept fantasy BBC series based on the life of Prince Arthur and his trusty sidekick, the magician Merlin, before they became famous. And although it’s kind of pitched at kids, well – let me count the ways I love thee.

  1. I can’t believe it’s taken me until my third complete viewing of the series to discover that just about every episode has a scene with Arthur shirtless – ooh ah!

    Is that a chocolate johnson he's hiding?

    Is that a chocolate johnson he’s hiding?

  2. There’s magic and that’s always cool.
  3. I love the bromancing thing between Arthur and Merlin.
  4. Ditto the humour/banter between Arthur and Merlin.
  5. I love the slow change in Morgana’s character in series 2 & 3. She becomes boring once she’s a thorough no-good baddie but when she’s sort of on shifting ground, I really like that.
  6. I love the relationship between Gaius and Merlin.

    Hubba hubba!

    Sir Lancelot! Hubba hubba!

  7. Lancelot.
  8. Gwaine (even though he has an unfortunate name). And what is it with all the hot knights anyway?
  9. The bad-ass dragon.
  10. That Merlin’s secret magic name is Emirus – I know this sounds like an airline company – but it works in the show.
Gwaine gets in on the chesty action!

Gwaine gets in on the chesty action!

 

 

 

 

 

 

So there that’s me done and blogged.

Can’t wait to hear about your journey in the Otways!

Love you,

Mum

About Heather Gallagher

Heather lives in Ocean Grove with her beautiful family and a dog called Pip. She has a passion for quirky stories. Her first book, Ferret on the Loose, was published in 2013 and was recently listed on the Victorian Premier’s Reading Challenge. The book was inspired by a girl and her ferret, who Heather interviewed while working as a freelance journalist for The Sunday Age. Her column, Yak Attack, ran in the Kids View section for more than a year and allowed Heather to profile people she thought would be of interest to kids. In 2014, she released her first picture book Happy Pants – Why is mummy so sad? This is NOT a story about ferret racing. Rather, it is a heartfelt story about a boy grappling with his Mum’s post-natal depression. Heather’s stories for children have appeared in black dog books Short & Scary anthology and Explore and Challenge magazines. Heather has experience in public speaking – both for children and adults. While, promoting Happy Pants she spoke to groups of counsellors, nurses, parents and at library events. She has presented writing workshops to primary-aged children. Last year, she was a presenter at the Sacred Edge festival and the Christian Writers’ Conference.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

