On Winning NaNoWriMo

Hey, so like remember this post where I was like, ‘I’m going to attempt NaNoWriMo, and I’ll probably fail but whatever.’

Um.

I didn’t fail.

I DID IT. I DID EEEEEET!!!!

Here are all my pretty statistics if you’re into that kind of thing;

winnerrr

Yes, I spent a lot of the start of the month writing, and a lot of the end of the month writing, and a whole lot of time in the middle twiddling my thumbs and hiking through the Otways, but like LOOK AT IT. LOOK AT THE NUMBERS AND THE GRAPH. I don’t think I’ve ever been this excited about numbers and graphs…

Speaking of maths, we have a quadratics exam tomorrow. Cool fun.

Anyway, I wrote 50,000 words in thirty days. Technically in eighteen days actually because of all the thumb twiddling and mountain hiking.

Here are some things I learned;

  • Momentum exists. I don’t recommend taking a break from your novel to go hiking (although I do recommend going hiking).
  • It is possible to write a lot of words in a short amount of time. 10276 was my biggest day, and was very required because I was slightly twenty thousand words behind at that point.
  • Don’t get behind. Don’t. But if you do, don’t worry.
  • Words sprints are the greatest invention. Knowing I can comfortably write at a 33.3 word a minute pace is very handy when in the deep dark depths of NaNo. Donna Noble would still put me to shame, though…
  • I’m not a pantser. I’m not even a plantser. I’m a full blown plotter, which made for a slight identity crisis about half way through the month.
  • If you use hashtags about writing on twitter, you get a bunch of random hits from writers…
  • I still have a long way to go. My novel is nowhere near finished. To be fair, I did restart twice because of the previously mentioned lack-of-pantsing issue.

I recommend it. Do NaNo. You’re an author, you have to…

Anyway. Maths test to look forward to. Yay.

Byee, and dftba.

❀ Rose

yaas

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Winning NaNoWriMo

  1. Robyn says:

    πŸ‘πŸΌπŸŽ‰πŸ‘πŸΌ

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

