possum pee, a nanowrimo strategy

Before we get into my hopes, expectations and predictions for The Astrologers Daughter, I would like to share with you an excerpt from my latest writing project, my Camp NaNoWriMo ‘novel’. (Camp NaNo is basically NaNo, but not in November.)

++++

‘DO YOU KNOW WHAT TIME IT IS?!?!!?!?’

‘About four forty, why?’

‘Cameron Lewis there’d better be a dang good reason for this phone call.’

‘A possum peed on my face.’

‘What?’

‘It found my bush, and was like that looks like a nice sleeping human, better pee on their face and then he let loose and I was like HOLY POTATOES WHAT IS HAPPENING. And then I found the only public toilet in the whole of the southern hemisphere that’s unlocked at four in the morning and cleaned myself up.’

‘Cameron.’

‘Yeah?’

‘The only reason you should ever call me at four forty in the morning, is to tell me about a possum peeing on your face.’

‘Noted.’

‘Brush tail or ring tail?’

‘What?’

‘The possum.’

‘Ring tail.’

‘So what are you doing now?’

‘Standing sockless in a disgusting public toilet,’ I said, glancing at the dimly lit walls covered graffiti and other, less appealing substances that I didn’t really want to think about.

‘Did Mr Ring Tail Possum steal your socks as well?’

‘It’s a long story.’

‘Are you gonna be at school tomorrow?’

‘Tomorrow’s Saturday.’

‘Sorry, I’m not used to being woken up at ungodly hours of the morning to be told hilarious anecdotes about bladderful rodents, it’s slightly disorientating. Are you gonna be at school today?’

‘No. I have to get revenge on the possum.’

‘Well, suit yourself. I’m going back to bed,’ yawned Taha.

‘Alright. Coincidently, I’m going back to bush, so I guess I’ll see you later.’

‘Later Cameron, lord of possum urine,’ and he hung up.

I wasn’t going back to bush. I don’t think I was ever going back to bush – I was understandably slightly emotionally scarred.

And that, ladies, gentlemen, and beyond, is what happens when I get stuck on whatever I’m writing during a NaNoWriMo event (because I’m now an expert at NaNoWriMo events, have completed one, and gotten five days into another). When faced with writer’s block I do several things;

  • Think about where the story is going, and how the scene is getting it there. This can give you some direction – if it doesn’t;
  • Make something weird or unexpected happen. I highly recommend having native Australian animals perform bodily functions on one of your main characters.
  • Stick with what you like writing – if you like writing fight scenes, have your MC provoke a space alien overlord. If you like writing descriptions, have your MC get on a plane and crash land on an excessively describable deserted island. If you like writing dialogue, have your MC call their friend in the middle of the night to tell them about an unfortunate event involving a possum that occurred a few minutes previously.

(Note: as a teenager who is doing NaNoWriMo for fun, I am completely unqualified to give writing advice. Don’t take what I say with a grain of salt – take what I say the with entire salt content of the pacific ocean.)

Okay let’s talk about books.

The Astrologer’s Daughter (I know I inconsistently italicise book titles – sorry. If you think I should italicise book titles, comment PANCAKES. If you think I shouldn’t italicise book titles, comment WAFFLES.) seems like the genre of book I read a lot of in grades 3-5, and don’t read so much anymore. Like fantasy/mystery?

It also seems like the sort of book that would be set in like Victorian England, but that seems likely to be an inaccurate prediction. I’m not really sure. Maybe there’s a reason people say you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, and I should just start it…

Okay, I’m gonna go either read or write. DFTBA.

❤ Rose

P.S

To avoid sprained ankles when engaging in spontaneous dance parties, keep an eye out for malicious carpet. It looks suspiciously like regular carpet, so be careful.tumblr_inline_mvfuym2A5D1qd9yoe

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to possum pee, a nanowrimo strategy

  1. Hey Rose, you should be a guest lecturer in my fiction class 🙂 They’d love the possum pee! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

